COVID-19 Update: Metropolis Dermatology values the health and safety of our patients. Read more about how we are addressing the current situation.
COVID-19 Update: Metropolis Dermatology values the health and safety of our patients. Read more about how we are addressing the current situation.

Patient Testimonials

google reviews

Metropolis Dermatology
5 Star Rating based on 25 reviews
888 S Figueroa St #1050 Los Angeles, CA 90017
213.319.3339

I will definitely go back to Dr. Wang

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I had a scar on my upper lip from a shave biopsy and after months of seeing another doctor’s office covered by my insurance and getting no results, I decided to see Dr. Wang out of pocket. He literally gave me one steroid injection and my scar is almost 90% gone and almost totally flat. He was also very kind and easy to talk to. I will definitely go back to Dr. Wang because he is worth every penny

by

Dr. Wang is patient and kind

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I went with my friend to saw Dr. Wang for a small blemish on his nose. The blemish was thoroughly addressed, diagnosed, and treated. Dr. Wang is patient and kind, and explained everything in detail – better more than the dermatologists I saw in the past. I like the modern and calm style of the clinic. The check-in process is especially easy with high-tech and all electronic. The clinic has a nice view of the downtown. I have not seen such stunning views in other derm or doctor’s office at all. Highly recommend!

by

He is one of the nicest dermatologists

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

This place is next to my workplace and so I gave it a try and stopped in for a small rash and ended up getting a couple of small spots zapped by Dr. Wang. He is one of the nicest dermatologists I’ve met and answered all of my list of questions. He is hilarious and his office and the view from there is immaculate. Their moisturizer and day cream also made my skin feel like silk. Would highly recommend giving this place a try.

by

Dr. Wang is an incredibly talented doctor

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I have visited several dermatology offices in the LA area, and Dr. Wang’s practice is by far one of the most sophisticated and comprehensive. He offers a wide range of solutions for both skin conditions and cosmetic purposes.

Metropolis Dermatology offers a calm and tranquil environment, very welcoming for first time and returning patients. Dr. Wang is an incredibly talented doctor, with a wonderful staff of kind and efficient individuals.

I am looking forward to future treatments with Metropolis Dermatology!

Don’t hesitate..You’ll be glad you booked with Dr. James Wang.

by

I highly recommend it!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I use to see Dr Wang at another office and naturally I HAD TO follow him when he opened his own practice! He’s as smart as he is understanding and compassionate; and apparently he’s also got an eye for design because his new office is sleek.
In all seriousness, it’s always a great experience to visit Dr Wang’s office and I highly recommend it!

by

I would recommend Metropolis Dermatology

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Dr. Wang and his team were awesome during my visit. Everything from checking in and filling out forms electronically, to visiting with Doctor Wang and getting my treatment done was super easy. I would recommend Metropolis Dermatology to anyone in Los Angeles.

by

I trust Dr. Wang wholeheartedly

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Dr. Wang and the team at Metropolis dermatology are the best! I trust Dr. Wang wholeheartedly. He went to Harvard Medical School and is the smartest board certified dermatologist I know. From autoimmune skin conditions, to stubborn acne, or body tightening and lasers, he has you covered. I have known him for over 3 years and trust him with my skincare needs. His new office is the “FOUNTAIN OF YOUTH!” He has ALL of the new lasers and body tightening machines and offers fillers and anti-wrinkle injections that will make you look 10yrs younger than when you walked in. Location is prime!! Located in the hip and hot area of downtown LA, with panoramic views of the city and gorgeous wall art, you can escape from the hustle and bustle into a chic and modern space! Parking is easy and plentiful The office manager, Marissa is so helpful and the nurse Samantha is very knowledgeable and kind. Dr. Wang is a family man and great with babies and kids too!

by

Dr. Wang is awesome

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Dr. Wang is awesome. I’ve been seeing him for a while now and always have a great experience; he’s patient, knowledgeable and caring. His staff is great too, of course. New cool office DTLA by the way!

by

Dr. Wang was great

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

My view while waiting in the office! Super clean and so nice they even have a coffee maker and mini fridge filled with drinks. I didn’t get a picture of my room but I wish I did the view was spectacular. Dr. Wang was great as well he answered all of my questions and made me feel very comfortable. I would recommend this office and look forward to coming in for my follow up visit.

by

Amazing doctor that I highly recommend

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Amazing doctor that I highly recommend. He is caring and patient and wants to provide the best solutions for your skin. I feel so much better after getting his expert opinion on my skin issues. Thanks Dr. Wang! I will be seeing you again!

by

Dr. Wang is one of the most genuine dermatologists

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Dr. Wang is one of the most genuine dermatologists you can find in LA. He was willing to walk me through my options even though I’m sure I asked too many questions. When I searched for him and messaged him on Yelp, I received a reply immediately. When I went in, I realized it was actually Dr. Wang who personally answers his messages. Just goes to show you the kind of person he is. Great experience!

by

Excellent experience visiting Dr James Wang

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Excellent experience visiting Dr James Wang at Metropolis Dermatology. Short wait times, excellent staff and Dr James Wang answered all of my questions and put me at ease from the start. Will be back!

by

It’s like a 5-star hotel!!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I appreciate the look and feel of the clinic tremendously. It’s unlike other dermatology offices I’ve been in, where things feel a bit sterile and dated. Metropolis Dermatology feels designed. I later found out that Dr. Wang designed the space himself. The location is perfect, and the rooms have a view. It’s like a 5-star hotel!!

by

Glad I found Dr. Wan

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Wow, we’re my exact words as u walked into the office. It’s soo beautiful, the staff are amazing they greet you and right away they offer you coffee, soft drinks, water or snacks I was a bit hungry after that LA drive so it was perfect. I came in for a skin checkup/mole check.. I was roomed with in minutes, was asked many questions and skin cancer history by the medical assistant.. Dr. Wang came in checked my skin and thought one of my moles was suspicious so he removed it and sent it to the lab for testing. I had many questions since it was my first mole removed and he was very nice and understanding and actually answered my questions with detail unlike others that are just trying to leave the room. I even asked him about this dark spot I have on my right upper arm and he recommended one of there product is was the HQ pads. I been using them for about one week and the spot already looks lighter, very happy and glad I found Dr. Wang.. btw parking can get a little tough but if you park across the street at the smart and final you can get one hour free.

by

Skincare line is fantastic

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I’ve been seeing Dr. Wang for many years, but so glad I got to see him in his own brand new office in DTLA, which is especially nice, with views of the city, hardwood floors, and amazing murals. You feel like you’re in an art gallery, but in a non-pretentious way. The vibe is young and trendy, and they have the latest in cosmetic lasers. Their skincare line is fantastic – you have to try the Glow antioxidant cream – making my skin better than many of the high-end stuff you buy at department stores

by

They were on time

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I needed a quick appt for my lunch break and they were on time and nice.

by

Dr. Wang is a brilliant dermatologist

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Dr. Wang is a brilliant dermatologist who always puts his patients first. He cares incredibly about his patients and is a gifted diagnostician. His practice is stunning, and has all the latest in laser technology. It offers an accurate reflection of him as a provider, as well.

by

The doctor is knowledgeable

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Great location in DTLA for the best dermatologist in the area. Couldn’t be happier with my choice. The office is convenient and looks amazing, the doctor is knowledgeable, and the staff is great!

by

Very thorough!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Great experience with Dr. Wang and his staff! Very thorough!

by

He is a very smart, passionate doctor

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I am a rheumatologist in Santa Monica, and I refer my patients to Dr. Wang for medical dermatology problems. He is a very smart, passionate doctor who always takes great care of our patients. He is always happy to fit patients in his schedule to get evaluated and treated promptly.

by

Very happy with my experience

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I’m in my mid 30s and needed to see a dermatologist after recently developing rosacea. I heard about Dr. Wang through a friend. At first, I was worried I’d only be seeing an assistant in his office (I mean, what doctor with a pedigree from Harvard and UCLA ACTUALLY has time to see a patient!!), but that’s not what happened at all. Dr. Wang spent time with me and really took the time to get to know me and go through my concerns. He was humble, gracious, and patient. Very happy with my experience – I’ll definitely be going to Dr. Wang for all my dermatology needs!

by

Great experience with Dr Wang

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

Great experience with Dr Wang and his team!

by

Really cared about my concerns

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2020

I had a wound on my forearm – a curling iron burn – ugh, something I had not done to myself since my teens!! It wasn’t healing and I went to Dr Wang to make sure nothing was seriously wrong. He not only treated the wound and speeded up the healing but then lasered it, which helped to prevent a huge scar. I went back for one more laser treatment and magically the scar is gone. I am so excited about the new office – I really appreciated how he was able to see me immediately, really cared about my concerns and resolved the problem quickly and easily – now other people will get to experience that as well.

by

I’ll definitely be back.

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 13, 2019

I work downtown and this location was perfect – easily walkable – so I’m glad I checked this place out. This place is gorgeous! The city murals are very cool, and everything is brand new.

I didn’t have to wait at all to be seen by Dr. Wang, who is a very nice and easygoing doctor. He took his time to address my issues and actually explained all the options to me instead of just telling me what to do. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. I’ll definitely be back.

by

Can’t wait to get some laser treatment done!!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 13, 2019

I’ve been seeing Dr. Wang for my dermatology needs for a few years now in Glendale and El Segundo and love him! I’ve seen multiple dermatologists in my life, and with little success. What makes Dr. Wang different is that he’s also a derm pathologist and he cares for his patients. I’m so excited that he’s opening in DTLA, and can’t wait to continue my skin journey with him. Can’t wait to get some laser treatment done!!

by

Instagram - @metropolisdermatology

888 S Figueroa St #1050
Los Angeles, CA 90017

Get Directions

CLICK HERE TO BUY HYDRO Shield SPF

CLICK HERE TO BUY PURE Mineral SPF

CLICK HERE TO BUY SOOTHE Antioxidant Cleanser

CLICK HERE TO BUY GLOW Antioxidant Reveratrol Cream

CLICK HERE TO BUY HYDRATE Ultralite Moisturizer

CLICK HERE TO BUY QUENCH Hyaluronic Serum

CLICK HERE TO BUY FORTE Retinol Serum

CLICK HERE TO BUY CLEAR Pads

CLICK HERE TO BUY ACNE Wash

CLICK HERE TO BUY BRIGHTENING Pads

CLICK HERE TO BUY PLUMP Lip Shield

CLICK HERE TO BUY SMOOTHE Max_Exfoliator

CLICK HERE TO BUY REVERSE Neckletage

CLICK HERE TO BUY FIRM Eye Serum

CLICK HERE TO BUY SPORT DENFENSE BODY SPF 50+

CLICK HERE TO BUY SPORT DENFENSE BODY SPF 50+

CLICK HERE TO BUY BALANCE PH TONER

CLICK HERE TO BUY HEAL CLAY MASK

JAMES Y. WANG, M.D.

Dr. Wang is a Harvard and UCLA-trained double Board-certified dermatologist and dermatopathologist. He specializes in diagnosing and treating skin cancers, psoriasis, eczema, and acne (including the safe use of Accutane). He is also an expert in anti-aging skincare, injectables, as well as laser treatments for scars, sunspots, and broken blood vessels. He has been named each year as Superdoctor, Top Doctor, and Top Dermatologist in various publications in the Los Angeles area.

He attended college at Washington University in St. Louis, where he graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa in biology. He earned his MD from Harvard Medical School and, concurrently, his MBA in healthcare policy from Harvard Business School.

JEFF BONNAUD, PA-C

Jeff Bonnaud is a board-certified Dermatology Physician Assistant who has been practicing medicine & dermatology since 2014. Being a thought leader and educator within the field of dermatology, Jeff Bonnaud’s meticulous approach and outstanding patient care has earned him recognition as a 2020 World Leader in Healthcare and 2020 Top Physician Assistant by the International Association of Healthcare Professionals. Jeff focuses on underlying health conditions, and provides a comprehensive approach to all layers of the skin and degrees of aging with a combination of skincare, peels, facials, injectables, energy based devices like lasers, and even surgery if needed.

A graduate of UCLA, Harvard University, and Quinnipiac University’s PA Program, PA Bonnaud began his career in adult outpatient Internal Medicine with Brigham & Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA where this invaluable experience provided a deeper understanding for underlying and complex conditions seen within dermatology. For nearly five-years, Jeff worked in cosmetic & medical dermatology in Boston earning a loyal patient following and reputation. Jeff Bonnaud is a national thought leader and educator within dermatology regarding biologic and treatment therapies with a high emphasis on autoimmune inflammatory conditions like psoriasis and eczema. He currently sits on multiple pharmaceutical advisory boards to help shape further advances in treatments.

TIFFANY WANG, PA-C

Tiffany Wang, a Certified Physician Assistant (PA-C), graduated with the distinction of Salutatorian from the Southern California University of Health Sciences’ Master of Science Physician Assistant program. She has completed a Dermatology Fellowship through the Society of Dermatology Physician Assistants and is an active member of the American Academy of Physician Assistants, the Society of Dermatology Physician Assistants, and the California Academy of Physician Assistants.

Tiffany has always had a passion for medical and cosmetic dermatology and aspires to make everyone feel like the best version of themselves. Tiffany finds joy in being able to help a patient find what works best for them. She loves all things dermatology and skincare and is excited to bring her passion to Metropolis Dermatology.

LADAN AFFIFI, MD

Dr. Affifi was born and raised in Southern California. She attended the University of California, Berkeley for her undergraduate education and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Public Health. She subsequently obtained a Master's degree from Columbia University in nutritional studies before she matriculated into medical school at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine where she graduated with research distinction.

During medical school, Dr. Afifi was recognized for her academic achievements and patient care and was inducted into both the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and the Gold Humanism Honor Society and was the recipient of the Glasgow-Rubin Award from the American Medical Women’s Association for graduating in the top ten percent of her class.

Dr. Afifi completed her preliminary year in internal medicine at Pennsylvania Hospital- University of Pennsylvania Hospital System before moving to Los Angeles to begin her training in dermatology at the University of California, Los Angeles, where she currently is the chief resident. Dr. Afifi has authored numerous peer-reviewed articles and textbook chapters as well as given presentations at conferences.

Outside of work, Dr. Afifi loves the beautiful Southern California weather and enjoys hiking, biking, culinary exploration, playing tennis and traveling.

OMAR BARI, MD

Dr. Bari is a UCLA-trained dermatologist specializing in medical, surgical, and cosmetic dermatology. He is an expert in treating the full range of skin disease but also passionate about neurotoxin (e.g., BOTOX®), filler, and many other aesthetic interventions.

After being raised in Indiana, Dr. Bari graduated magna cum laude from Harvard University. He then worked as a management consultant at McKinsey & Company before earning his medical degree at UC San Diego. He remained in southern California to pursue his dermatology residency at UCLA. Dr. Bari continues to be active in research and has authored over 15 publications.

Outside of dermatology, Dr. Bari enjoys Los Angeles’ dynamic restaurant scene, high intensity interval training, and the NFL.

SHAUNA HIGGINS, MD

Dr. Higgins was born and raised in Los Angeles, California. She attended Brown University for her undergraduate education where she studied Human Biology and Business Economics while simultaneously studying Photography at the Rhode Island School of Design. She earned her MD from the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine, where, in addition to acquiring a number of academic honors, she served as Editor-In-Chief of The Beat Art and Literary Magazine showcasing the creativity of members of the UCLA health sciences community.

Dr. Higgins has completed several years of research both at the University of Southern California and the University of Nebraska Medical Center where she managed and conducted a number of epidemiological, clinical, and translational science research studies in melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer, patient-related satisfaction outcomes, and complementary and alternative medicine.

She has authored dozens of publications, several book chapters, and has presented over 30 abstracts via poster or oral presentation. She completed her internal medicine year of training within the Yale-New Haven Health System and is currently finishing her residency in dermatology at the University of Southern California + LA County Hospitals residency program.

STARLA MCDOWELL

Starla has been a licensed Aesthetician for over 10 years and is also a Certified Dermatology Technician through the Association of Certified Dermatology Techs (ACDT). In addition, she is certified in Skinceuticals and Dermalogica, as well as having extensive experience working with medical grade skin care lines.

Starla thrives in an environment where she is able to help people feel their best while supporting their skin health and enjoys customizing treatments based on her clients’ individual skincare needs.

ALMA STEGLAU

Alma is a Licensed Aesthetician that has provided luxurious and corrective skin care services for 5+ years. She continues her education with post graduate courses and seminars to keep up with the latest technologies.

She holds several advanced esthetics certifications which include but are not limited to treatments of acne, hyperpigmentation, and anti-aging. She is also trained in several clinical and organic skincare lines.

A lifelong passion for skincare drives her desire to educate and help people feel good inside and out. Her gentle touch and technical skincare expertise will leave the skin wanting more!

WHITNI

With tenure experience in various roles within the Los Angeles dermatology community, Whitni joined Metropolis Dermatology as practice manager at a critical time; the very beginning of the global pandemic. As a native Angeleno and graduate of nearby California State University, Dominguez Hills, Whitni contributes a strong sense of pride in serving the Los Angeles community. As practice manager, she strives to be an effective yet compassionate team leader, who champions our mission to "Do Derm Differently", by supporting our clinical providers, actively advocating for our staff, and collaborating to cultivate authentic experiences for our clients.